So i haven't posted in a few days; my weekdays are busy and I don't get much time anymore. My weight loss journey is continuing onward. I'm at 154.8 and i've lost a little more on my waist, it's 28.5". My mindset over the past few days has shifted from "omg I just worked out! AAHH I hate 20 minutes on the treadmill, etc." to an acceptance of the fact that this is what I have to do to reach my goals. It's like my friend was saying to me a couple of weeks ago.. She's made it such a part of her routine that it's just like going to class. And she's got an amazing body so I guess that works for her. I had a good weekend, my boyfriend and I went and worked out Friday night and Sunday afternoon, and we needed to. We went out to eat with his family Saturday night and as you know, Sunday was the Super Bowl and that always involves a lot of badforyou munchies and snacks. But, I felt no shame in induldging a little, becuse I knew that I was going to workout and keep my progress going. A year ago, if I had a "bad" day, I would have gotten discouraged and been like "oh well." But now I see that every day can't be perfect, I've gotta learn to be healthy in the real world, not just when I have the resources and the tools. Going out to eat is part of life, and I think i've learned to just take it in stride. So since I didn't eat right some of the weekend, yesterday morning I woke up at 6 and went to the gym. Got some cardio in, did a little lifting. I went last night again with my roommate. I know I shouldn't overwork myself, but it's recommended that I get at least 45 min of cardio in a day and some days I like to split it up. I'm able to run a mile now. it's a 10:20 mile, but it's still a mile. I would really like to run a 5k on the treadmilll, I think that's going to be one of my long term goals that I would like to accomplish by April or so.
So as you know I hate oatmeal, but I found an amazing flavor that I actually love. Its strawberries and cream, and I think it tastes delicious. 130 calories, pretty low in sugar, a few grams of fiber, whatever. But I was pumped because eating stuff that I despise gets old and makes me discouraged somtimes. I thought about going to workout this morning, but a friend of mine said that sleep is extremely important when trying to lose weight. My body needs time to recover from all the muscle tearing that I'm doing when I lift, and I didn't get much sleep at all Sunday night, so I let myself get a good night's rest last night and I feel great. There's not been any major setbacks or goals that I've reached so far, but the day I get under 150 will be a great day. I feel it coming soon, because I'm not getting burnt out or anything on eating well and working out, so I expect to reach that goal within the next week or so. I knew that this time was going to be it for me, I have the right tools, the right perspective on it, and I have an amazing support group this time. I know that I said that weight loss is an individual journey, but the more I think about it, the better it really is to have people to be on your side, hold you accountable, and to share your successes with. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment